Fantasy books aren’t always my cup of tea but – THESEBOOKSARESOGOODHOLYSHITOMGAHHHHHH – end monkey brain. That should give you a clue about how I feel about the Poppy War trilogy, because these books are so good, holy shit. I finished all three, and I am screaming, crying, throwing up.

I’m going to save my thoughts on the other two books, the Dragon Republic and Burning God, for later because that requires a whole other post to unpack – with some fresh tissues. *sniffles*

The Poppy War starts off with the action right off the bat. Prodigy Orphan Gets Selected to go to Special School is probably overdone a million times. Faces Bullies, Eccentric Mentors and Other Challenges™ another million. The first quarter of the book is what you’ve seen repeated in every YA book. After that? Ha. Haha.

What I love is the transition from the sheltered life Rin and her classmates lead at Sinegard to the stirrings of tension and war. Even as war starts, you can still see that they’re kids – until they’re suddenly forced to grow up in the wake of horrors.

To everyone wondering – this series deserves the “grimdark” label. 101%. Just as you’re wondering why everyone calls this book dark – it hits you in the face. With a frying pan. And the best part is that Kuang never once throws in something gruesome just for shock value.

Speaking of the characters, Rin’s character arc is something I’m obsessed with. She starts off as your average Orphan With A Hidden Talent™ (although even then in the first quarter you actually see her work her ass off and struggle). As you go forward, you can see her slow downward spiral which builds and builds until the ending (you’re going to read and find out yourself *brandishes knife*).

The worldbuilding. I ADORE. Everything about it – the shamanism, gods, magic, was so unique. You usually see “practicing xyz magic makes you stronger and healthier” in books. Watching how the ‘magic’ destroys its user and drives them to eventual madness was a fresh take, and plays a big part in Rin’s arc. The role of ‘poppy’ or opium in fueling said powers was fascinating.

But the best part is: RF Kuang’s writing. It’s clean and simple, the prose never bored me for a minute.

So yes. I loved the Poppy War and would go as far as saying it’s one of my favourite books.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Leave a comment